Public Announcements


2018 MWA Book Awards

Now Open for Submissions...

The 2018 MWA Book Awards are open to all MWA members in good standing who have published a novel (50K words or more) in 2016 or 2017.  There is no fee to enter; one entry per MWA member. 

Awards will be given in the following genre divisions: 

  • Mystery/thriller
  • Romance
  • Science Fiction/Fantasy/Speculative fiction
  • Literary/Mainstream
  • Historical Fiction
  • Young Adult / New Adult

However, at least 5 qualifying entries are required to award a prize in that division. 

Co-authored books are allowed; anthologies to which the author has contributed a story are not.

Novels entered in the 2017 MWA Book Awards are not eligible to be re-submitted to the 2018 awards.   

Submission period is JULY 1, 2017 – SEPTEMBER 30, 2017.

For more information on rules and how to submit, please visit our Contests page.